Full List of EU MPs Who Voted Against Naming Russia State Sponsor of Terror

2 weeks ago 16

The European Parliament has overwhelmingly backed a declaration that Russia is a "state sponsor of terrorism", although several dozen lawmakers opposed the resolution, nearly half of whom came from the EU's right-wing group.

On Wednesday, 494 members of European Parliament (MEPs) voted in favor of the text condemning the "deliberate attacks and atrocities" carried out by Russia which have targeted civilians and infrastructure of Ukraine.

The parliament also agreed that Moscow had carried out "serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law" which amount to "acts of terror against the Ukrainian population and constitute war crimes."

Russia's foreign ministry spokeswoman, Maria Zakharova, criticized the resolution, saying on Telegram that "everything was calculated in advance" and was legally "insignificant."

European parliament in Strasbourg
A plenary session at the European Parliament in Strasbourg, eastern France takes place on November 22, 2022. On November 23, 2022 it overwhelmingly backed a vote naming Russia as a state sponsor of terrorism. FREDERICK FLORIN/Getty Images

The EU's terrorist list was set up following the 9/11 attacks and allows the bloc to blacklist only specific individuals and organizations.

It comprises 21 entities including Hamas, the Kurdistan Workers' Party (PKK), Colombia's National Liberation Army (ELN) and the military wing of Hezbollah. Any change to the list would require the unanimity of all 27 EU countries.

In a media statement, the European Parliament said that the EU currently cannot officially designate states as sponsors of terrorism and so calls on EU member states to put in place "the proper legal framework and consider adding Russia to such a list."

This would cause "significant restrictive measures against Moscow and have profound restrictive implications for EU relations with Russia," the statement said. A spokesperson for the European Parliament referred Newsweek to this statement when contacted for comment.

The non-binding resolution merges three different texts filed by the parliamentary groups the European People's Party (EPP), Renew Europe and the European Conservatives and Reformists group (ECR).

As well as the nearly 500 members who backed the resolution, there were 58 who voted against it and 44 abstentions.

Out of the 58 who rejected the resolution, 26 were from the Identity and Democracy (ID) political grouping of the parliament which was launched in 2019 and consists of nationalist, right-wing populist and euroskeptic national parties.

Nine of the votes against came from Non-Inscrits (NI), non-attached MEPs who do not belong to one of the recognized groupings. There were also 12 no votes from members of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats (S&D) while 10 from the left-wing grouping voted against the resolution.

Here is the full list provided by the European Parliament of those voting against the resolution:

European Conservatives and Reformists group (ECR)

  • Emmanouil Fragkos (Elliniki Lusi-Greek Solution, Greece)

Identity and Democracy (ID)

  • Christine Anderson (Alternative für Deutschland, Germany)
  • Mathilde Androuët (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Jordan Bardella (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Gunnar Beck (Alternative für Deutschland, Germany)
  • Aurélia Beigneux (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Dominique Bilde (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Hynek Blaško (Svoboda a přímá demokracie, Czech Republic)
  • Annika Bruna (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Patricia Chagnon (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Marie Dauchy (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Ivan David (Svoboda a přímá demokracie, Czech Republic)
  • Nicolaus Fest (Alternative für Deutschland, Germany)
  • Jean-Paul Garraud (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Catherine Griset (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Jean-Francois Jalkh (Rassemblement national, France)
  • France Jamet (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Virginie Joron (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Maximilian Krah (Alternative für Deutschland, Germany)
  • Joachim Kuhs (Alternative für Deutschland, Germany)
  • Jean-Lin Lacapelle (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Gilles Lebreton (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Thierry Mariani (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Philippe Olivier (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Guido Reil (Alternative für Deutschland, Germany)
  • André Rougé (Rassemblement national, France)
  • Bernhard Zimniok (Alternative für Deutschland, Germany)

Non-Inscrits (NI)

  • Nicolas Bay (Reconquête! France)
  • Francesca Donato (Independent, Italy)
  • Marcel de Graaff (Forum voor Democratie, Netherlands)
  • Lefteris Nikolaou-Alavanos (Communist Party of Greece, Greece)
  • Kostas Papadakis (Communist Party of Greece, Greece)
  • Miroslav Radačovský (Slovak PATRIOT, Slovakia)
  • Martin Sonneborn (Die PARTEI, Germany)
  • Milan Uhrík (Hnutie Republika, Slovakia)
  • Tatjana Ždanoka (Latvijas Krievu savienība, Latvia)

Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats (S&D)

  • Pietro Bartolo (Partito Democratico, Italy)
  • Monika Beňová (MER-Sociálna demokracia (Slovakia)
  • Andrea Cozzolino (Partito Democratico, Italy)
  • Robert Hajšel (Independent, Slovakia)
  • Ivo Hristov (Bulgarian Socialist Party, Bulgaria)
  • Dietmar Köster (Sozialdemokratische Partei Deutschlands, Germany)
  • Tsvetelina Penkova Bulgarian Socialist Party (Bulgaria)
  • Joachim Schuster (Sozialdemokratische Partei Deutschlands, Germany)
  • Massimiliano Smeriglio (Partito Democratico, Italy)
  • Sergei Stanishev (Bulgarian Socialist Party, Bulgaria)
  • Petar Vitanov (Bulgarian Socialist Party, Bulgaria)
  • Elena Yoncheva (Bulgarian Socialist Party, Bulgaria)

The left wing

  • Marc Botenga (Parti du Travail de Belgique, Belgium)
  • Clare Daly (Independents for change, Ireland)
  • Özlem Demirel (Die Linke, Germany)
  • Niyazi Kizilyürek (Progressive Party of Working People - Left - New Forces (Cyprus)
  • Kateřina Konečná Komunistická strana Čech a Moravy (Czech Republic)
  • Sandra Pereira (Partido Comunista Português, Portugal)
  • João Pimenta Lopes (Partido Comunista Português, Portugal)
  • Martin Schirdewan (Die Linke, Germany)
  • Miguel Urbán Crespo (Anticapitalistas, Spain)
  • Mick Wallace (Independents for change, Ireland)
Read Entire Article